The winners of the fifth annual Emhart Teknologies "Create the Future" Design Contest have been announced. The awards will be presented on April 23 during a dinner reception at the beautiful Water Club in New York City.

The contest, co-sponsored by NASA Tech Briefs, COMSOL, and SolidWorks Corp., attracted an unprecedented number of entries from engineering professionals, students, and the general public from the United States and 40 other countries around the globe. The following innovations were selected to receive the contest's grand prize and first prize:

The Grand Prize of a hybrid automobile or $20,000 will be presented to David A. Torrey of Advanced Energy Conversion LLC (AEC, Malta, NY) for the AEC Integrated Motor/Pump. The pump provides for the dual use of parts by integrating the rotor of the electric motor with the impeller of the pump in a common housing. Average energy requirements may be significantly reduced by employing controlled flow as allowed by variable speed pump operation independent of engine speed.

First-Prize winner Buck Albritton of GearMax (Ashland, VA) will receive a Panasonic 42" plasma TV for his Grip Handle tool. Co-developed with Gene Albritton, the tool allows the user to carry heavier loads with a better grip, while saving their back. The tool is placed against the load at a comfortable position for lifting, the movable grip pad slides next to the load, and the load is ready to lift by the handle.

For more information on all of the contest winners, click here. Be sure to check out the special contest winners' section beginning on page 11 of the April issue of NASA Tech Briefs.

The U.S. Government does not endorse any commercial product, process, or activity identified on this web site.